Back to reality

Since my past post, life has been…..interesting.

I left one job, freelanced for a couple of weeks, took a holiday that combined that freelance life, was made work offers and took something which was never on the horizon until I asked for it. All in all, a busy and unpredictable time.

What is interesting about freelancing is the level to which you have to remain positive and push yourself. In  a previous job I was editor of a magazine and worked from home for 3 and a half years; it sounds great doesn’t it? My working day was 9-5 and I generally was “at my desk” for 8.50am and in the gym by 5.10pm.

This time things were slightly different: I started earlier and worked later because I was working for myself and spent m
image

ost of the day emailing old contacts on the seek for work. That is really nothing especially different from the usual job of the journalist – you spend the majority of your time talking to people either in person, on the phone, on email or online to get what you need and keep communication up.

Some of my friends said to me that they would find working from home to be a nightmare – the fridge and TV usual points of prevention from that life. For me, in this and the previous spell, the motivation is to do a job and with my aids of a very comprehensive CD collection and BBC 6 Music, I had no issues.

Now I’m back in the office and part of me thinks that I could take the working from home opportunity more seriously, but having done a spell where I had one night out at a PR social event and talked like a mad man, perhaps it is better for me to be amongst other people. After all I’ve seen The Shining, and in my case, too much work and all play made Dan slightly scary.

Leave a Reply

