3rd November resolutions

Because New Year resolutions are crap and no one actually sticks to them, I’ve decided to make some changes in early November and to ensure that I keep to these, I’m documenting them here.

1 – Start running again and do a competitive 5k before the end of 2014. As many of you will know, my 2012 resolution was to take up running and I stuck at it, from couch to 5k, to 10k and to the Royal Parks Half Marathon in November 2012. I then sat down for about 5 months, entered the half marathon again and completed it in 2013. Then sat down again, and basically have eaten pies and biscuits since. In other words, I’m out of shape and out of exercise and can do both with an effort to run again. Easier said than done, well yes, but at the time of writing I’ve just done 26 minutes running and loved it.

2 – Relearn shorthand. One of my keen ambitions is to do something about the journalist/secretary language I learned, and promptly forgot, back in the 1990s. This won’t be easy, but I’m hoping it’s like the whole bicycle analogy, not that one. Just if you see me trying, speak slowly, and don’t frown at my still using a dictaphone.

3 – Lose some weight. You read it in #1, but when the jeans feel tight, I know and the better T-shirts are being subbed for the 4XL freebies I’ve got from conferences, I need to something about it.

4 – Read a book before Christmas. “A journalist who doesn’t read a book?” you may say. Truth is I read a lot on online and a lot of magazines, and listen to a lot of podcasts, but also play a lot of Championship Manager and Candy Crush, so with podcasts covered again in resolution #1, I can try and read something. Especially as I managed to take books to conferences in Las Vegas and Amsterdam and not open a page in either.

So that’s the 4 documented. Yes I’ll be nicer to people, try and cook more, be more patient, write more blogs and try and cut down on the beer, but life’s got to have some fun, right?

Leave a Reply

